8 months gone and in my stride! – Gabriella at Disney

First of all, it’s been 4 months since my last blog post

Christmas and New Year came and went and the first few months back at work have been so busy. I have been working hard and have found myself very much in my stride with my role. We have some really exciting projects coming up in the department and I am really happy to be a part of such a vibrant and fast paced team.

Strangely we have been going through the intern process over the past month and that feels a little scary. I remember being in that position, walking into the Disney office reception and talking to the other candidates, it doesn’t seem that long ago. However in saying that I have grown a lot as a candidate and a person over my year at Disney. So much so, I feel sad thinking that time is coming to an end, it has been an incredible experience and has changed my perception on a lot of things, not just my favourite Princess.

The year in London has also given me the confidence to be more independent in other elements of my life. Earlier this month I was given the opportunity to be an English tutor at a summer camp for children in Italy. This role was recommended to me by a friend, but was something I might not have applied for before this year. I have some exciting events planned for the summer and it will be a nice way to spend the summer before going into my final year at university.

Placement Portfolio

Writing my placement portfolio has been a nice way to reflect on the year as a whole and observe the change in my skills and development. Although it has been a chore at times, (when a long day at work has meant all I want to do is have dinner and go to bed), I think overall it has been a nice record of the year as a whole and will be a useful tool when referencing my placement year in my final year work.

To add to the theme of previous posts, see below for a picture of another Disney character and I. This time it’s me and my family when they came to watch a screening of Big Hero Six, if you haven’t seen it yet (not being biased) go and see it. Baymax is one of my favourite Disney characters ever!

If any of you placement searchers this year want any first hand advice or encouragement, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

My email is p12192462@myemail.dmu.ac.uk

Leave a Reply

