From Barratt Developments to Samworth Brothers – Marzia’s Story

My name is Marzia Muchhala and I studied a Business and Marketing degree here at De Montfort University in my very own hometown, Leicester. I decided to study at DMU because after doing some research, I found that DMU are known for having a fantastic placement office with great links to major employers. This was the initial attraction as I was certain I wanted to do a placement alongside my degree as I achieved great results throughout my earlier education. Marketing is a growing sector and is very important in this digital day and age hence why I knew that I wanted to pursue a career within this sector, studying at DMU in their strong business school.

The placement team offered help from the start of my placement journey which included sorting out my CV, to then give me hints and tips through interviews and also were there throughout my placement year constantly being a support and motivator. It didn’t just end there:  the placement team signposted me with regards to graduate opportunities in my final year, as it was very stressful yet exciting at the same time! I didn’t really have to go far to look for the support as all it took was one email and one conversation to be passed on to the right people and that’s the great thing, DMU always make time for their students.

Whilst studying business and marketing, I searched for a placement with the help and support from the placement team which allowed me to secure a fantastic position with Barratt Developments as a Marketing Intern. This was life changing as the knowledge and skills I gained allowed me to transfer them into my final year of studies. Such skills included: working towards deadlines and delivering presentations. This placement also gave me great press coverage after featuring in the newspaper 5 times and in 2 magazines! This experience really got me prepared for the future and what the real world of work will be like – exciting!

I would definitely recommend a placement to all students as this really gives you the extra edge and chance to being one step closer to your dream as you meet so many different people who open many doors for you, learn new skills and qualities which allow you to be an all rounded candidate and fills you with amazing knowledge. Having an industrial placement gives you a competitive advantage over others especially when you make a lasting impression which is very important!

My experience in the last 4 years at DMU and Barratt Developments has allowed me to secure a graduate position in Commercial with Samworth Brothers which is beyond amazing! I am in the sector I most enjoy and working with products I love the most, food! I took advantage of the support DMU offer such as the placement team and the great lecturers, building great relationships with them all allowing me to receive the best support and guidance throughout the process– I wouldn’t have been able to get through it all with DMU!

DMU has been beyond amazing to describe it in 3 words; I would say it has been a challenge, adventurous and life-changing!

Leave a Reply

