Kwaku Darko – Placement Year at: Satellite Information Services

kwaku

My Placement search:

I began looking for a placement in around October last year and began by applying to a few, at first I did not get many responses, however, this was most probably due to my CV and cover letter not being up to scratch at first. After improving my CV by visiting the Placement Office and the workshops, I began to apply to many more. In total, I think I applied to around 20 placements. I had a few rejection e-mails at first and many companies didn’t reply, which I found most annoying. I finally had a telephone interview in February with SIS LIVE, and I was invited for a face-to-face interview in March. Around this time several other companies also invited me for interviews. I had two interviews before I was offered my placement and about 4 interview offers come after I accepted!

My Current Role.

My current position at SIS LIVE is Marketing Student Placement, and there are many different things that I get up to, including updating and monitoring our social media accounts, helping with the planning and organisation of events and exhibitions, updating the company’s website and many more different things! I’ve also been able to visit some of the events that our engineers have been working at, including the Ricoh Women’s British Open, which was fantastic!

IBC 2016

One of the exhibitions that SIS LIVE attends is IBC, which hosts over 1,600 exhibitors spanning the creation, management and delivery of electronic and media entertainment. The exhibition is massive, spread across 15 halls! Much of my work in my first few months of my placement was planning and organising our stand for IBC. There were many things that I was involved in for IBC, including helping with the design of the wall graphic, ordering furniture, sending out invitations to clients to visit our stand and scheduling meetings with clients. I flew out to Amsterdam on the 8th of September for the build-up day and was there for the opening day of the exhibition which was on the 9th of September. I was able to have a roam around of the exhibition and some of the technology on display was amazing! On the evening of the first day we had a drinks reception with clients, this was a good opportunity for me as I was able to meet many of our clients and learn more about many of the other companies in the industry.

Advice for Placement Searchers

The biggest advice I would give to current placement searchers is not to give up! Keep going with your placement search, even though you may get some rejections you have a whole year to eventually find one! I would also recommend that you should get your CV and cover letter checked by the placement office as there could be several things you can do to improve it. Once you start your placement it’s good to attend any social events that are put on, as it would help you to settle in and get to know your colleagues!

Kwaku Darko

Marketing Student Placement

Leave a Reply

