Law student can’t wait to start legal career thanks to placement opportunities

A Law student at De Montfort University (DMU) is thrilled to be enhancing her legal skills during a year’s placement.

Abigail Lea Jack, known as Abbie, is working at Wilkin Chapman LLP Solicitors – one of the largest law firms in Lincolnshire and East Yorkshire.

Abbie-main

Her role in the personal injury and road traffic accidents department is providing Abbie with vital experience for her future career.

She said: “When I found out that I got this placement I was absolutely over the moon, I was just so ecstatic about starting here at Wilkin Chapman.

“I still feel that way today, I absolutely love working here and cannot wait to start my legal career after university and that is all because of this placement.

“I have my own cases and I get paid, which is great, as it is helping me to save for my Legal Practice Course, which everyone has to take to become a qualified solicitor.”

Abbie, due to graduate in summer 2018, praised the Placement Team at DMU for helping her secure the role, having visited them a number of times for assistance with her CV.

The 21-year-old said: “They must have gone over my CV five or six times before we got it right.”

As a result she was offered two placements, choosing Wilkin Chapman because it best fitted with her career aspirations.

Leave a Reply

