March Case Study – Millie Kenyon

I currently study Advertising and Marketing Communications and I am on Placement at Pfizer as a Rare Disease undergraduate.

Pfizer is a global pharmaceutical company and before starting my Placement I knew nothing about medicines or the pharmaceutical industry, but I have learnt a lot in my first 6 months and it has taught me a lot about the science behind the areas in which I work. I have been welcomed into a supportive team where despite being an undergraduate I am treated as a valued member of the team. There are 2 other undergraduates in the team who study ‘Human Physiology’ and ‘Natural Sciences’ as team we have various different backgrounds and knowledge but work well together by sharing our knowledge and thoughts.

millie

I work in local Rare Diseases and my role includes various different areas of marketing from developing materials and getting approvals, helping create stands for conferences, developing digital channels and much more. I have had the opportunity to travel and have been to Athens, Paris and Glasgow, with some trips planned for the future.

After only being here for 6 months I have learnt so much and have met some great people who I have learnt a lot from, I look forward to the rest of my time here and am now thinking about following a career in pharma.

During my time here I have witnessed a lot of changes within the team and company which has taught me a lot not just about pharmaceuticals but also working in a corporate environment, something that I wouldn’t have learnt from lectures or university life. I would highly recommend getting a placement as it has taught me a lot about working life and applying what I have learnt from my course to the real world and not just reading lecture slides.

The DMU placement team have been supportive from the start of my application process and throughout my placement.

Leave a comment