My First Six Months at IDRsolutions as an International Student – Emily Le Ngoc

Emily Le Ngoc

Placement Student (2020/21) at

IDRsolutions

UNIQUE START

My year-in-industry began amid the pandemic and for me returning to UK for my placement was quite impossible back then. I didn’t have access to my belongings nor even my most basic work equipment (laptop) which I had left in the student housing before Covid-19 started. I was deeply concerned about the whole situation. However, my employer made sure my placement would be possible and that I would get the most out of the placement year.


Before the beginning of my placement the company kindly sent me equipment for work including an Apple MacBook and other accessories from the UK to Poland, where I was based. I am very grateful for all the effort the company has put so far to make my placement experience the best possible despite current circumstances.

My typical day of a working-from-home placement

I start my day by checking all my work inboxes including sales inbox to keep myself up-to-date with everyone, and then move onto my daily tasks. The tasks are all organised on Basecamp, our main work platform where the team discuss the projects. Since I work closely with the company’s owner, around noon we jump into
a Zoom call to touch base on our current work and the progress we have made. I find those calls extremely helpful because it’s a perfect time to raise any concerns or questions I have regarding my current tasks.


Once a week I host a marketing meeting and participate in a sales meeting with the team to discuss any new ideas or improvements we can implement. Throughout the month, there are also various catch-up meetings with either the whole team or individual people.


Just like in the office, I have a lunch break to refresh myself and replenish my energy before I go back.

I finish my work by checking what I have done today and my plans for tomorrow which keeps my schedule neat and organised. Although I call this ‘work’, which has a heavy sound to it, I personally find it very enjoyable. Every day I am learning something new and applying my knowledge in real-life situations, which is fascinating!

‘Every day I am learning something new and applying my knowledge in real-life situations, which is fascinating!’


My marketing role


In the past 6 months, I was exposed to many different angles of marketing and had a chance to be involved in various engaging tasks and activities. Some of my duties include leading marketing meetings, creating marketing reports with the use of SEO tools, managing the company’s social media channels with content creating and even working on the company website design. Beside marketing, I have been gaining lots of useful knowledge of sales and how the business operates which makes my placement never boring.

During my placement, I have only ever been treated as a key member of the marketing/sales team.

Despite working from home, the team all keep in touch on a daily basis, so I have never felt left alone. There were many moments when I had difficulties while learning new things, but my colleagues and boss are the kindest people who were always happy to give me some input if I encountered any difficulties.


My thoughts so far


In the past six months, I have realised how special is the company culture of IDR. Everyone here takes professionalism and fun equally seriously. IDRsolutions’ CEO once said that he wanted to create a company where he would like to work, and I believe this is what makes IDRsolutions stand out from the crowd. It is one-of-a-kind place full of passion-driven people. They believe in working hard and always learning, but also in having fun, living their lives outside work and finishing on time at the end of the day.


This is my first experience working in the industry, so it is natural that I am making mistakes. However, many times I have felt unsatisfied with my work and that it is not flawless, the IDR team has been very understanding and supportive as most of the team was in my place years ago. Their support has been helping me gradually accept that it is okay to make mistakes and understand that it is about learning from
mistakes and improving.


Our Friday afternoons are reserved for personal development and bonding activities with colleagues. These learning afternoons mean a lot to me because the company fully supports my self-growth journey and gives space for exploring new possibilities in my future career, not only during work but also after work. How great
could this be!

IDRsolutions’ CEO once said that he wanted to create a company where he would like to work, and I believe this is what makes IDRsolutions stand out from the crowd.

For more information on IDRsolutions see – https://www.idrsolutions.com/about-us


Placement Search Advice!


Looking back, reaching out to BAL Placement Team was one of the best decisions I made during placement search because of the unlimited support with the preparation I received. Without them, the whole process would have been more difficult. Of course, I had to face rejected applications, which were often discouraging. However, because I believed that my future self would thank me later for this opportunity – I stayed motivated and worked even harder to achieve my dream. In the end, my positive attitude has led me to receive an amazing offer from IDRsolutions which, in my opinion, was one of the most suitable places I could gain experience.


So far, I have acquired many skills useful for my future career and it has been only six months! I am looking forward to what next months will bring!

-Emily Le Ngoc

NOW CHECK OUT OUR OTHER RECENT BLOGS!

Leave a comment