Advantages of doing an Internal Placement at DMU – Fariha Ahmed

Advantages of doing an Internal Placement at DMU

Hi!

My name is Fariha and I am the current Employer Engagement Assistant for the Employer Engagement Team here at DMU, within the Careers Department. You may have read my previous articles, but if not, I’ll be speaking about the advantages of doing an internal placement!

Fariha Ahmed

To start off with, I chose to do a placement year primarily due to the fact that I wanted to increase my employability. I am currently studying Law, and Law in itself is a very competitive subject. Prior to this placement year, I had worked as a frontrunner intern within the Computing, Engineering, and Media Careers team, therefore I had a brief introduction into the office environment. I knew a placement year would be a great opportunity to try something new as well as develop my transferrable skills. I also wanted to take a year out from my studies and focus on building up my skills, for better job opportunities after I graduate.

Now, to get to the main part… advantages of doing an internal placement!

  1. Insight into the world of work!

Internal placements allow you to get an insight into the world of work. Although this would be for any organisation, within DMU, you are able to be a part of many projects, get involved in as many things you want to, attend numerous training sessions to up your skills and for your own development. You get to decide in the end if this is a career path that you want to go down and you get a feel for what you like doing and what you don’t. For example, you’ll be able to see – is a desk job for you?

  1. Its local!

Many of you who live on campus may be worried about the commute as most placements that are advertised are based out of Leicester. Internal placements are not – they are based within DMU! You’ll be working for a specific department within the university so no need to worry about the commute.

  1. You’ll be able to work with a diverse range of people!

Placements give you the opportunity to work with a diverse range of people, whom you can all learn from during your year in industry. This can be through team meetings, bouncing off ideas within the office, learning new software’s to use etc. All these people you work with will have something to teach you. That is the most important thing to take away.

Above are just three advantages stated for doing an internal placement, however there are many more to consider too!

Don’t miss the chance to apply to the placement roles once they go live this week, and trust me, it will be worth it!

Leave a comment