Completing an Internal Placement Year within the Employer Engagement Team- Fariha Ahmed

I am so glad to have received the opportunity to work as an internal placement student, within the Employer Engagement Team here at DMU.

Working at DMU as a staff, rather than being a student, has given me an insight into the framework of the organisation. One in particular is our intranet, My Gateway. My role as an Employer Engagement Assistant requires me to add job opportunities on My Gateway, as well as approve opportunities, add upcoming employer led events and write articles for the Friday Careers Newsletter. Executing these tasks has allowed me to understand the lengthy process of adding jobs, events etc on My Gateway. From a student perspective, as I now understand the backdrop of what the Employer Engagement Team do, I know that I will ensure to check My Gateway more, as there are a lot of opportunities and events that are being added on there for our benefit.

As an internal placement student, I have come to understand how to communicate with professional bodies, especially key employers that I work with. My confidence over the last 5 months has grew exceptionally, and I am able to talk to employers on a daily basis without any hesitance or nervousness, as I am more aware of what I am speaking about. I try to present myself in an eloquent manner, whilst also building a good relationship with the employers, in hope, that I will be able to contact those employers again once my placement ends to have them as my network. This role, as an Employer Engagement Assistant, has been a great opportunity for me, because as a Law student, I know that networking is key, and as I am in constant contact with employers, my network has slowly been building up.

Additionally, this placement has also allowed me to develop a number of skills further, especially my communication, project management, and marketing skills. I have been able to get involved in large projects and events, as well as had the option to organise and run my events. In regards to marketing, I have been the leading member of numerous social media campaigns for various projects, and have taken the initiative to develop marketing strategies that could be utilised in the long term. This has been a developing point for me and has allowed me implement my own marketing ideas into making people more aware of who DMUWorks are.

Overall, working as an internal placement student is one of the best decisions I made; I was lucky enough to be chosen for this placement role by my current manager and colleague. It has been a rewarding and skill-developing experience and an opportunity I do not regret, nor ever will!

Leave a comment