Day in the life of a Digital Communications Undergraduate, At Pfizer – Tino Chiwuyu.

My role as a Digital Communications Undergrad consists of designing and scheduling Pfizer’s social media posts, designing website layouts of articles written and published online, as well as writing some of the articles published on the webpage, designing graphics for different campaigns that run externally and so forth. I am always focused on working creatively on a day-to-day basis and also keeping up with the different topics online that involve or affect Pfizer in any way.

At the moment, I solely work from home and Pfizer has made sure that we have the best workspace set up for home working. This set-up enables me to work ergonomically, flexibly and comfortably with the provision of a Pfizer-owned and encrypted work laptop, monitor, monitor stand and work mobile. My workday begins at 9 am when I log onto the main server on my work laptop and begin by checking my emails for any updates from within or outside the organisation.

Most times my emails involve internal updates on different initiatives and plans within my team, but sometimes I receive emails that require me to create posts or updates on current topics or news that Pfizer may be involved in. This could be Pfizer’s apprenticeship schemes that they may have open and or even Pfizer’s sustainability campaigns  that may need to all be shared online.

After I check my emails, I teams-message my manager and colleagues a “Good morning!” with a quirky gif on the side. We go on to chat for a bit over how the passing weekend was or about silly miscellaneous topics on what movie either of us would have watched or how their day in the park was. Because we work from home, these short little conversations create a great working relationship with my colleagues and I. They make me feel more in tune with the team and allows me view them as everyday people with normal lives and interests.

I am the bubbliest one in my team and I bring high-tempo energy that has allowed me to get to know my colleagues on a more informal level a lot faster – which is great! I engage with them freely and comfortably and that makes working with them a lot easier and peaceful.

Straight after that I usually get off the screen, head off to the kitchen and make myself a nice cup of hot chocolate: because I deserve it! I make myself some breakfast which usually consists of fruit, then come back to my desk and maybe pop off to watch a show on Netflix for a bit whilst I eat my food.

The flexibility of working from home allows me that privilege and the flexible culture that Pfizer has created provides an environment of trust that enables employees to be able to handle their work efficiently and promptly: trusting that they will get the job done, no matter how they do it. This is one of the things that I love about working at Pfizer. The flexibility and freedom is great and it allows me to work efficiently throughout the day, knowing that I can get my job done at my own pace and time.

I usually take an hour to myself then jump back into the workday. My workflow all depends on my to-do list and how busy corporate will be at that particular moment. I usually have to design content for social media and that could consist of 7 sets of posts that go on each of Pfizer’s social media channels, including Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and LinkedIn. I make the graphics that go with the posts in Photoshop and edit the dimensions to fit the sizes of the platform I will be posting them on. Afterwards, I create the captions that will go with the posts, adapting my tone of voice to suit Pfizer’s and finalise my creations through approvals before scheduling them all to run for the next 3 months or so.

Sometimes the graphics are provided and that makes it a lot faster to get things done. Throughout, whilst doing this, I will have different meetings running throughout the day with different people to either discuss what to do for different campaigns running throughout the year or to discuss last-minute socials different colleagues may need done for different engagements that they’re involved in with external parties. Sometimes it’s even just to have a friendly chat with some of the undergrads I work with in Corporate Affairs.

I usually have my lunch at noon where I pop off to the nearby Tesco to buy myself some custard doughnuts, come back and relax. I go over more work I may have for the day, taking breaks in between ever so often but still getting my work done on time. When the day is done at 5 pm, I log off for the day, stretch and take a well-deserved nap or get started on dinner (it all depends really).

My days are flexible and I get to see through the pattern in which I work. Each day is different, some busier than others, but they all provide me with work that engages me into learning different skills each day that help me build my CV. I enjoy working creatively and, overall, I enjoy the environment that Pfizer has created that allows for me to work so freely yet efficiently.

Leave a comment